CDOD Seats New Board, Honors Perkowski

1 Jun 2015

CARLSBAD, NM, June 29, 2015 – The Carlsbad Department of Development (CDOD) recently held its annual meeting and paid tribute to several community businesses and leaders. The event, which also serves to announce and seat new board members for the upcoming fiscal year, was highlighted with guest speaker Ryan Flynn, the Secretary of the New Mexico Environment Department.

Outgoing CDOD president Jay Jenkins touted the successes achieved during the past year, to include the sale of the Cascades properties to developers planning to erect a family entertainment center. Jenkins then passed the gavel to incoming president Mark Schinnerer.

Honorees for the evening included Rangeland Energy receiving the Community Impact Award; Xcel Energy receiving the Community Impact Award; Andy and Amit Bhakta receiving the Community Prospector Award; Joe Epstein receiving the Community Crusader Award; and former Carlsbad mayor and current Carlsbad Municipal Schools Superintendent Gary Perkowski receiving the Lifetime Achievement in Economic Development Award.

The main theme of the evening was working together to achieve success for Carlsbad and Eddy County.

The CDOD remains committed to assisting local businesses grow and expand while recruiting new industry and business for the overall growth of the community. 

The Carlsbad Department of Development is a member supported non-profit organization. Members represent over 100 chief executive officers in industry, business and finance, the City of Carlsbad, Eddy County Board of Commissioners, New Mexico State University-Carlsbad, and other organizations. The Carlsbad Department of Development is your first contact for business assistance in Carlsbad and Eddy County.


For additional information regarding this release
Carlsbad Department of Development / News Division
Office: 575-887-6562

The Carlsbad Department of Development is the economic development agency for the City of Carlsbad and Eddy County, New Mexico